Claypool Lennon Delirium "Monolith of Phobos" Album Review

Host your website
with iPage!

June 3, 2016 -- Every now and then on the news we'll see the NASA bit about that face impression on Mars which, in technical terms, is called the Phobos Monolith. Many wonder and speculate on how it got there, and who could resist looking at those satellite pics...

When worlds collide strange things can happen. When word got out in the music world that Les Claypool and Sean Lennon were collaborating, many anntenaes perked up.

Band: Claypool Lennon Delirium
Album: "Monolith of Phobos"
Released On: June 3, 2016
Label: ATO Records


If asked to summarize the talents and success of Les Claypool, one, I just don't have the time to do that and, two, my list would be incomplete anyway -- such is yet to be fully known. Claypool, a singer-songwriter and multi-instrumentalist (among other roles and personas), is most widely known as the bassist of the band Primus. When it comes to playing bass, he has a technique and style all his own. Let's just say the instrument definitely knows it's role and who the boss is.

Sean Lennon, having displayed his natural music talents early in age, has been busy writing, producing, and performing over the years. Some accomplishments remain unknown to many, for instance, at age 16 he co-wrote "All I Ever Wanted" with Lenny Kravitz. Five years later he joined the group Cibo Matto which was pivotal for the band's direction and growth. Most recently, in 2008, he formed the avant-garde pop meets psychedelic rock band with Charlotte Kemp Muhl known as The Ghost of a Saber Tooth Tiger (The GOASTT). The 2014 album, "Midnight Sun," was a benchmark success for the band. Obviously the talent gene runs rampant in Lennon's DNA -- on both sides.

The Claypool Lennon Delirium was formed after Claypool and Lennon toured together last year. These two are well established in their own right; no one "needed" to collaborate or make this record per se. But some like Claypool can't sit still. Always moving forward. And when two distinct musicians click, it's a wonderful thing. Thus, serving as the perfect springboard for creativity and exploration. "Monolith of Phobos" is the first album by The Claypool Lennon Delirium. Think rock music -- outer space -- in trippy, vintage style.

Together the duo wrote and recorded the album over six weeks, sharing various vocal and instrumental roles. Claypool's mastery of bass can be recognized through out. Lennon's mad skills on the guitar dazzle you. The title track is deep and heavy with sci-fi like vibrato initially funneling in. Sounds chemical. Sucks you in. Fortifying the overall hippie galactic feel of the album. In "Cricket and the Genie (Movement I, The Delirium)" you can hear Claypool on bass, revving up like a rhythmic engine. Lennon's dulcet vocals add just the right touch. The next, "Cricket and the Genie (Movement II, Oratorio Di Cricket,)” continues this same acidic flower-power fluidity. "Mr. Wright" has a contagious, funky groove and beat. Lennon's vocals are enhanced by Claypool in the chorus. The lyrics are funny, touching on some weirdo guy spying on a girl (eye-roll). "Breath of a Saleman" will have you tapping your feet soon enough while mimicking "hey, youuu, I don't want'cha to come talk to me" in your best Tennessee dialect. Other tracks like "Oxycontin Girl" and "Ohmerica" provide a touch of contemporary when it comes to lyrics and subject matter. "There's No Underwear in Space" is final track, thereby recapping the overall outer space theme of the album while keeping it hallucinogenic and trippy.

Need406 gives "Monolith of Phobos" by The Claypool Lennon Delirium a very rare 10 stars out of 10 stars album rating.

01. The Monolith Of Phobos - 4:40
02. Cricket And The Genie (Movement I, The Delirium) - 3:52
03. Cricket And The Genie (Movement II, Oratorio Di Cricket) - 4:16
04. Mr. Wright - 4:21
05. Boomerang Baby - 5:48
06. Breath Of A Salesman - 3:27
07. Captain Lariat - 6:00
08. Ohmerica - 5:08
09. Oxycontin Girl - 5:03
10. Bubbles Burst - 4:10
11. There's No Underwear In Space - 3:27

Album Review by JENMEDIA - Copyright © 2016 - All Rights Reserved.

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...

Copyright © 2016
- All Rights Reserved - 3rd party links open in a new browser window.