Clutch "Psychic Warfare" Album Review

Host your website
with iPage!

Clutch is no stranger to mastering the sound of rock. Their last album titled Earth Rocker (2013) was widely praised. The latest, Psychic Warfare, takes us down a different path. Such not only bears witness to the embedded core talent these musicians possess, but also to their versatility and knack of enticement. 

Band: Clutch
Album: "Psychic Warfare"
Released On: October 2, 2015
Label: Weathermaker


Psychic Warfare is unveiled by way of "Affidavit," an ambient spoken word narrative. Hence the band introduces the listener and an intriguing and unusual way, sucking one into the Clutch realm. X-Ray Visions ignites with strong, propelling riffs and beats with a unison (chorus) message that "Psychic Warfare is real." A shredding guitar solo is followed by a brief interlude diving into the subject of astrology then hitting the throttle right back where it was. Through this track and others it's clear to see (or hear) the array of talents. In addition to musical masters, Clutch also holds a degree in the art of tease - often shifting back and forth between the deep and heavy to rowdy, wild contagion. 

"Son of Virginia" has a rustic, homegrown sound at first which soon ignites, taking listeners on a seven minute journey of diverse audio rock bliss. Overall the album is hard, loud, and ear-catching laced with undeniable deep sinister appeal. 

Need406 Give "Psychic Warfare" Four Stars out of Five Stars.

01. "The Affidavit" - 0:25
02. "X-Ray Visions" - 3:42
03. "Firebirds!" - 3:00
04. "A Quick Death in Texas" - 3:57
05. "Sucker for the Witch" - 3:21
06. "Your Love Is Incarceration" - 3:14
07. "Doom Saloon" - 1:12
08. "Our Lady of Electric Light" - 3:51
09. "Noble Savage" - 2:49
10. "Behold the Colossus" - 3:51
11. "Decapitation Blues" - 3:11
12. "Son of Virginia" - 7:15

Neil Fallon – Vocals/Guitar
Jean-Paul Gaster – Drums
Dan Maines – Bass
Tim Sult – Guitar

Clutch Discography:
Transnational Speedway League (1993)
Clutch (1995)
The Elephant Riders (1998)
Jam Room (1999)
Pure Rock Fury (2001)
Blast Tyrant (2004)
Robot Hive/Exodus (2005)
From Beale Street to Oblivion (2007)
Strange Cousins from the West (2009)
Earth Rocker (2013)
Psychic Warfare (2015)

Album Review by JENMEDIA - Copyright © 2015 - All Rights Reserved.

HTML Comment Box is loading comments...

Copyright © 2015
- All Rights Reserved - 3rd party links open in a new browser window.